RSS

To Bake a Blue Cake: Part Three

27 Mar
To Bake a Blue Cake: Part Three

Clarisse whisked the batter and measured the ingredients while Percy heated the oven to the correct temperature. Honestly, by the end Percy was starting to think that the Ares kids had a hidden talent.
It came out of the oven perfectly fluffy and blue and on perfect time. With not much time left to make the frosting, Percy rummaged through the cupboards to find vanilla frosting in a can which he let Clarisse lop on and swirl around into a blue and white culinary masterpiece. “There. That should be good. Now, just you remember what you promised. Nobody knows I helped you, all right? Not one.” Clarisse wiped her hands off with a towel, grabbed her spear, and started to walk out the door.
“Hey, Clarisse, thanks. I never would have gotten this together without you.”
Clarisse paused and looked back a second before walking out. “Just don’t tell anyone.”
With Clarisse gone and no one else in the room, Percy allowed his shoulders to sag and let out a deep sigh. It was done, and on time too. And not only was it done on time, but it was beautiful, all blue and white and fluffy and sticky and cakey. Annabeth would love it.
It was nearing time for Grover to lead Annabeth inside, so Percy hurriedly threw away egg shells and wrappers, washed dishes, and cleaned the counters. He thought about trying to clean himself, but decided not to bother. There was no way that much blue food dye was going to come off him any time soon. He looked like a Jotun.
Percy began to pace. “Ok, ok. Annabeth walks in. She sees me. I come over and show her the cake. I then ask to reenact the under water kiss, then I kiss her. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do. That’ll work. Yeah.”
There was a slight knock on the door. “Percy?” whispered Grover.
Trying his best not to run, Percy walked to the door and opened it just enough to peek out with one eye. “What? Where’s Annabeth?”
“She’s coming. Get ready.” Percy nodded and shut the door. He tried his best to look casual, but now that it was actually happening his palms kept getting sweaty and he had to keep wiping them on his jeans.
Annabeth opened the door and started to walk in. She flipped on the light, which Percy had left off, and didn’t even take notice of him. Without looking up from the dagger she was polishing, she sat down on a chair across the room and continued to pant softly.
That wasn’t the plan. What was happening? Percy’s hands were now going critical and he couldn’t keep himself from blinking faster than normal. What should he do? He needed to do something. Best to just wing it.
“Um, hi, Annabeth,” he spoke, strong in the beginning syllables, but slowly losing confidence. What was that? That was awful! Winging it was a worse idea than he thought. But since he couldn’t take it back now, Percy decided not to quit quite yet. “What’ve you been doing all day?”
“Percy? You were in here? Why did you turn the light off?”
“I… I wanted to know what it felt like to be a bear and hibernate, so I turned off the lights and pulled the curtains so that it was like a cave.” Oh yeah, that’s the stuff. That’s what Percy’s talking about.
Annabeth glanced quizzically at him for about a second before going back to meticulously cleaning her dagger. “Uh huh. Well, Grover and I practiced weapons all day. And you were no where to be found. I guess you were off ‘hibernating,’ but really. You should have at least told me that you’d be gone all day.”
“Oh, I guess. I didn’t think of it. But Annabeth,” Percy said as he came closer. “that’s not all that I did today.”
“Oh?” Annabeth asked, sheathing her dagger and looking at him. “Um, were you painting? Because you have a little blue right… there,” she finished, gesturing to all of him.
“Yeah, yeah, I know. I got a little carried away. But that’s not it!”
“Oh?” Annabeth said again, raising an eyebrow.
“Nope!” Forgetting all of the splendor that was originally going to accompany the presentation, Percy simply jabbed a finger in the direction of his and Clarisse’s masterpiece. “I made you that.”
Glancing in the direction of Percy’s finger, Annabeth did a double take as she calmly looked that way only to jump out of her chair and quickly place the dagger on the table. “Wait, really? You made that?” Annabeth asked. “You made that? For me?”
Remembering his promise to Clarisse, Percy simply nodded. “Yup, I did! And yes, it’s for you! Really, Annabeth, sometimes I don’t even know why I call you ‘Wise Girl’.”
To that Annabeth laughed. Well, she laughed, but really it was more of a giggle. Annabeth giggled. “Well, you’ll always be ‘Seaweed Brain’, Seaweed Brain.”
Both teens stood awkwardly staring at each other for a few seconds before finally each of them started moving towards the other. This continued till there was almost no space in between them. “Your mom is probably making plans to kill me right now,” Percy commented.
“I’m sure,” replied Annabeth. “And I’m not sure how happy your dad is with you right now either.”
“Well hey, it can’t always be about them. I’ll bet Aphrodite is happy at least.” Annabeth smirked like she was going to continue the banter, but Percy stopped her with a sudden, tight hug. He wasn’t kidding about pleasing Aphrodite. No doubt Cabin 10 would be in a good mood tomorrow.
“Hey, Annabeth, I have a question,” started Percy with an involuntary blush that Annabeth couldn’t see, but could certainly feel.
“Yeah?”
“Remember last month, right after the battle for Olympus? And you gave me that cupcake for my birthday?”
“Mhmm.”
“And then we ended up kissing under the water after everybody threw us in?”
“Where are you going with this?” Annabeth asked incredulously.
“Well, I was wondering… That is, I thought that maybe… I mean, I don’t know, but-” this time is was Annabeth who promptly stopped Percy from talking, but this time with her lips.
After a few good, long seconds Annabeth came up for air. “Yes. I’ll reenact that kiss with you.”
Percy beamed. Lacey’s plan could not have worked out better. “I’m glad.”
“Now enough kissing… I want to try your cake!”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2014 in *Le Fanfic, *Le Percy Jackson

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “To Bake a Blue Cake: Part Three

  1. prajinator

    March 27, 2014 at 11:31 am

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
    • Rierierose

      March 27, 2014 at 11:37 am

      Haha, I’m gonna assume that that “!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” was good feedback. πŸ˜‰ Before I published it I asked my sister Chloe, who is an AVID Percabeth shipper, to beta-read it for me. I was hoping other Percabeth shippers would like it as much as she did. πŸ™‚

       
  2. prajinator

    April 8, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    Sorry this comment is so late, but…yeah. I didn’t ship Percabeth until the third book or so, because they were both so stubborn and easily angered that I thought there was no way this was going to work out. But somehow, it works. And It’s cute. πŸ™‚

     
    • Rierierose

      April 8, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      oh, yeah, I mean, I didn’t ship them romantically for a while. Percy had to grow up a little before I felt good about shipping him with Annabeth. πŸ˜‰

       

Give me some feedback!

 
