RSS

The Hero’s Heroine

24 Apr
The Hero’s Heroine

Link
It’s been two years now. Two years since I returned to Ordon village. When I first came back, I didn’t know what to do. Ilia, she pulled me back to the world. She saved me.
Ever since then, our relationship has been strong. Very strong. A couple days ago, while we were washing Epona like we always do, a thought struck me. Since I moved back, my life has slowly evolved to revolve around a center, and Ilia is that center. If you took her out, I literally don’t know what I would do.
So I’ve come to a conclusion. I can’t let her leave me. I want her to be mine, forever. We’re both nineteen now, so we’re not too young anymore. It is time. It is.
I wake in the dark of night and saddle up Epona for a special ride. To Castle Town. Since I can talk to Epona while I’m a wolf, she was able to glean things about Ilia that she wouldn’t say to my face. Like how Ilia likes daisies and lilies. And white pearls that aren’t too big.
I get to Castle Town in the early hours of the morning and head straight for the jeweler’s. I walk up to the man behind the counter. “I don’t suppose you have rings? With white pearls embedded into it that aren’t big.”
“Yes siree.” He reaches under the counter and winks. “You’ll do great, son. Keep up your courage and ask her right out.”
I immediately turn red. “How did you know I was buying an engagement ring?”
“Young, strapping lad like you buying a delicate, tasteful ring in the wee hours of the morning? Easy. And don’t you worry son, no girl in her right mind would turn a fella like you down.”
“I hope not.” I pay for the ring and get out of there fast. It’s getting late, and Ordon is hours away. I gallop back, pick the necessary flowers, and unsaddle Epona so Ilia won’t suspect anything. I sit in my house and force myself to stay calm. I hear her lead Epona to the water and I follow after a minute later, ring in pouch and flowers in hand.
At the gate I stop and breath. This is it. I round the bend. “Good morning, Ilia,” I say. She turns and sees the flowers.
“Are those for me? Oh, thank you, Link!” She runs forward and I hold them out to her. She sniffs them. “They’re beatiful. I didn’t think anyone but Epona knew I liked these. And as you know, Epona can’t talk.” Burn. Ilia knows I can talk to Epona. My ears are now so hot I think there might be smoke coming from them.
“Heh. Actually, I was thinking Epona might like to take a stroll over to Faron woods.” I look right at Epona. “Alone.” Epona knows what I mean. She leaves.
Ilia looks at me quizzically and blushes. Nayru above she is cute when she blushes. Right. Keep talking, Link, you’re doing great. “Yeah, I sorta thought you might like these.”
Now’s the time, Link. Just do it. Farore help me now. “And there’s something else I thought you might like too.” I get down on one knee and reach for the ring. Ilia holds the flowers in one hand and puts the other to her mouth in shock. Hopefully pleased shock. I hold out the ring.
“Ilia, will you marry me?”
Ilia doesn’t say anything immediately. Eventually she is able to whisper. “Yes. Oh yes.” A little louder, “Yes, Link, I will marry you!” She drops the flowers, takes the ring, and flings her arms around me. I return the embrace wholeheartedly. She’s mine now. Forever. I did it.
“Ilia, I love you so much. I’m so glad you said yes. I was afraid you’d say no.”
“I was so afraid you’d never get up the courage to ask. I’m so glad you did. I love you too, Link. So much.”
“So you don’t mind marrying the Chosen Hero of the Goddesses?”
“Mind? I don’t care, as long as you’re my Link. And most woman would find that to be a plus, if you didn’t know.”
“I don’t care.”
“Neither do I.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2014 in *Le Fanfic, *Le Legend of Zelda

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Hero’s Heroine

  1. Maggie Rice

    April 24, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Oh, this is beautiful!!! Thank you for sharing!! 😀

     
  2. theseshipswontsink

    April 25, 2014 at 5:29 am

    I love love your writing style! I really enjoyed reading this! I am sorry to hear that you will not be continuing ‘If Things Had Been Different’, but I am glad you will still be posting stories! I hope your move goes well, I know what it is like to move, as I have moved five times! I pray everything goes smoothly!

     
    • Rierierose

      April 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

      I’m glad! I’ll continue the If Things Had Been Different series eventually, but for now I just don’t have time to write new things. Everything I’ll be posting in the next few weeks is old material that I have saved on my desktop. But I’m glad to hear you like my blog! 🙂 And yes, moving is going to be… interesting, to say the least. Thanks for the spiritual support. ❤

       

Give me some feedback!

 
