RSS

The Twilight Princess: That Which Comes After

18 Sep
The Twilight Princess: That Which Comes After

“Link… I…” I can’t say it. I’ll break right in front of them. I’m not as strong as I thought I was. “See you later.” A single tear falls, and I use my magic to push it away. It flies to the center of the mirror and comes to rest in the heart of the Triforce.
I turn back to Link one last time. He is frozen to the spot, but it doesn’t look like he’s quite grasped what’s going on yet. My wolf isn’t always the brightest bulb on the tree. Turning to Princess Zelda, I can see that she knows. I can see it in her eyes.
The mirror takes hold of me and I begin to float as it begins to shatter. As the black particles envelope me, Link finally realizes what’s happening. I stare at him as his lips part in disbelief. I can just see the words catch in his throat. I smile at him as I leave and reappear alone in the middle of my throne room.
I smiled to show him that I am happy with the way things have turned out. To show him he doesn’t have to mourn for me. But I’m not happy. I used him. I knew only he could help me, so I used him. A simple teenager who should have lived a simple, happy life. I hang my head and two more tears appear, one in each eye.
“I’m sorry,” I whisper. “Link, I’m sorry. So, so sorry!” I shout, thrusting my face up as if speaking directly to him, although of course I’m only speaking to air. My voice echoes against the walls. I’ll never see him again. I’ll never be able to tell him just how sorry I am that I ripped his innocence away from him at so young an age.
“Princess?” asks a guard as he sticks his head in from the entrance. “Do you require assistance?”
He acts as though nothing has happened. They must not remember. That is just as well; I wouldn’t want them to remember what has happened. But there is one thing my people will never forget. “I am fine. Summon a scribe.”
Not long after, the scribe is seated at a desk in my throne room with paper and ink in front of him. “You will write as I dictate,” I command. He nods and I close my eyes to start. What to title this?
I smile. I know what to name this. Link poured so many hours into that book. He loved it so. “Title this ‘The Legend of Zelda.’ Now for the first paragraph.” How to begin? After only a second, I know this too. “This is the story of the blue-eyed beast who once saved the universe from destruction. This is the story of Princess Zelda, ruler of a prosperous land unfathomably far from here. This is the story of Link, chosen hero of the goddesses and ranch hand of Ordon village. It goes like this.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2014 in *Le Uncategorized

 

Give me some feedback!

 
