RSS

The Demigods and the Blue Box Part Four

13 Nov
The Demigods and the Blue Box Part Four

Part Three of this series can be found here.

“So you’re saying a Tyrannosaurus Rex just popped over from the past and decided it would be fun to attack my camp?” Annabeth asked, her right foot tapping away on the dirt and trodden-on grass.
“Well,” the Doctor replied slowly, bobbing his head every which way in hesitation. “Kind of. Well… Sort of. Well. A little bit. Somewhat not. It’s all very wibbly wobbly, timey wimey, much too difficult for demigods such as yourself to understand.”
To that Annabeth felt her face flush and her foot’s tapping stopped with one final thud. “I am a child of Athena, goddess of wisdom! It is I who has been trusted with rebuilding Mount Olympus, and I who aided Percy Jackson in fulfilling the Great Prophecy! I have little doubt that I will be able to wrap my head around whatever it is you have to explain to me, and I strongly advise against slighting my intellectual capacity again.”
The Doctor rose his hands in mock surrender. “Alright, alright. Not too difficult then.” A moment of silence passed.
“I’m waiting,” Annabeth pressed.
“Oh, right, yes, of course! I don’t know.” The Doctor clapped his hands together and smiled broadly.
“You don’t know?” Annabeth asked incredulously. “That’s not hard to understand. What’s hard to understand is how I ever found you useful enough to call you here in the future if ‘I don’t know’ all the help you can give me.”
“Oh, no no, perish the thought! I don’t know now, but that doesn’t mean I won’t know later. That’s part of the fun! Not knowing and then knowing later on. I’d think a child of Athena would know better,” the Doctor chided softly.
Annabeth nodded. “I get it. It is fun. No one understands that quite like an Athena child.” A thought struck her. “Are you a demigod?” she asked.
“A demigod? Me?” asked the Doctor.
“Yeah. Well, are you? A child of Athena, for wisdom, or maybe Hermes, for travel. Zeus maybe, for the sky. Possibly Hephaestus, for the gadgets and technology. Which is it?”
“I’m not a demigod,” the Doctor said.
“You’re not a mortal,” Annabeth retorted.
“No, you’re right, I’m not. I’m not a demigod, I’m not from Tartarus, and I’m not a mortal. There’s a fourth option.” The Doctor coaxed her to figure it out.
Annabeth rose one eyebrow. “Not a demigod, not a monster, and not a mortal. Fourth option. Something else. You… You’re an alien, aren’t you?” Annabeth phrased if as a question, when really she already knew the answer.
The Doctor nodded. “Yep. Timelord of the planet Gallifrey, eons and eons from here. I’m the last of them.”
“And you’re here to help the Grecian demigods of earth?” Annabeth asked.
“It’s what I came for,” the Doctor responded with a nod and a smile.
Annabeth’s eyes left the Doctor and focused instead on the dinosaur that was coming their way despite the demigod warriors who swatted at its toes like mosquitoes at sunset. Annoying enough that the dinosaur was defibitelg agitated, but not enough to do any real damage. “Then help me kill this thing,” she demanded.
“Woah, woah, woah! Not so fast there!” the Doctor said. “You American types, always jumping right to the fighting part. We don’t want to kill it, what did it do wrong? We want to take it back home.”
“What it did wrong is attack my camp,” Annabeth retorted. “And how do you expect to take it back to the past? With your ship? It’s not nearly large enough, even assuming I believe you when you say it travels in time.”
“You’ll be surprised what fits in there,” the Doctor chuckled to himself.
“It doesn’t matter how space effecient you are if it can’t get through the doors,” Annabeth reasoned.
“True. Which is why we need to move to Plan B.”
“What’s Plan B? Annabeth asked, a little more respectfully this time. She left a goodly amount of incredulousness in her voice, however. Didn’t want the Doctor getting too cocky.
“No idea,” the Doctor replied.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 13, 2014 in *Le Fanfic, *Le Percy Jackson

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “The Demigods and the Blue Box Part Four

Give me some feedback!

 
