RSS

The Demigods and the Blue Box Part Six

15 Jan
The Demigods and the Blue Box Part Six

Part Five of this series can be found here.

“Because!” answered the Doctor before Annabeth had a chance to open her mouth. “I’m from the planet Gallifrey, I am a thousand years old, I am the last of the Timelords, and I was called here by Annabeth Chase herself. You trust me because I am the Doctor, I am going to get that dinosaur back home, and I am going to do it before it destroys your Camp Half-Blood.”
Aaron laughed. “Annabeth, you’re buying this? Like, seriously? This guy is obviously nuts, if not from Tartarus.”
“I’ve told you all I know,” Annabeth said, and the conversation ended.
“Annabeth!” Percy shouted from a few yards away from her. He came over as quickly as he could. “What did you find? Did you stop it? Can he stop it? Can we trust him? Were there any casualties? Should we try Iris-messaging the Hunters?”
With a slight giggle despite the seriousness of the situation, Annabeth held a finger to Percy’s lips. “Slow down!”
“Right. Sorry. But, well?” Percy asked, darting his eyes from her to the Doctor to the battlefront and back again.
“We didn’t stop it, I don’t know whether he can or not, I’m still not quite sure about trusting him, there haven’t been any casualties yet, at least, and I don’t think it’s time to try the Hunters. We can still do this on our own.”
Percy nodded. “Ok. What’s your plan?”
Annabeth tilted her head back to the Doctor, who was just behind her and slightly to the right. “He says he can stop it. Personally I want to see him try.”
“How long do you need?” Percy asked.
“Forty-four, no, forty-three minutes should do the trick,” the Doctor said from behind them.
Percy nodded and looked back at Annabeth. “Is there anything else about this that I need to know before you go?”
“The celestial bronze won’t work on it.”
“WHAT?” Percy shouted. “What do you mean the celestial bronze won’t work? Of course the celestial bronze will work! It has to work! How could it possibly not work?”
“It’s mortal, Percy, it’s not a monster. It’s a dinosaur. From the past.” Percy squinted his eyes at her and didn’t say anything, so Annabeth continued. “You’re going to have to trust me. I know what I saw.”
“I still don’t know if I believe this whole time travel thing, but my sword definitely wasn’t having an effect,” added Seth. Aaron nodded and pointed to Seth in agreement.
Percy turned back to Annabeth. “Of course I believe you. But this changes everything. If our weapons don’t work, we can’t win. I don’t even know how we’re going to hold it off for forty-three minutes.”
“I wish I knew what to tell you, Percy, but I don’t. I’m sorry. You’ll have to think of something.”
“Yeah. Then I need to go. So do you,” Percy took a step away. “Be careful, Wise Girl.”
Annabeth smirked. “Try not to get yourself killed, Seaweed Brain.” Smirking back at her for a second before turning away, Percy disappeared in the crowd. Annabeth turned to face the Doctor, Seth, and Aaron. “Doctor, if you really do have a plan, now is the time to prove it.”
“And so it is. Ok,” the Doctor said. “Here’s the plan. I’m going to make a miniaturization ray, and miniaturize the dinosaur.”
Seth and Aaron looked at each other out of the corners of their eyes. They were willing to believe Annabeth, but obviously they were still pretty unsure. So was Annabeth herself, in fact. “A miniaturization ray. Ok. And if this works, then what?”
“Then the dinosaur will be small enough to fit through the front doors of my TARDIS and we can get it home. Once there I’ll be able to reverse the miniaturization, and we’re on our way!”
Annabeth pursed her lips slightly and fixed her eyes on the Doctor. That plan sounded, well, ridiculous. There was no way. It was impossible. But, then… If she was ready to believe in time traveling dinosaurs and 1950 police boxes, maybe she could give bow ties and miniturization rays their fair chance. “Fine, we’ll try it. What do you need?”
“A few things. A Hephestian working space. An Athenian brain. And my sonic screwdriver!” The Doctor held up his screwdriver.
“Then come with me. I’ll show you to the Toolbox the Hephestus kids like to call their work station. And I can supply the brain,” Annabeth stated dryly.
“What do we do?” asked Seth.
“We’ll need some people to carry the device to the dinosaur once it’s done,” the Doctor said.
“Then it looks like you two are coming along for the ride,” Annabeth told the two brothers. “Now let’s build us a miniturization ray.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2015 in *Le Fanfic, *Le Percy Jackson

 

Tags: , , ,

Give me some feedback!

 
